Highlight 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
   
www.vanefist.eu
DOSSIER 2004, November 30
 
A regional cancerology pole in the pipeline for 2007
 

 
As of now, one patient out of five at the Poitiers university hospital (CHU) is under treatment for a cancer-linked pathology. Given this fact, the establishment has decided to equip itself with a 12000 m2 regional cancerology pole. Let us pinpoint and spotlight this major league project with the help of Louis-Marie Challet, director of the Milétrie site and the cancerology branch.

The figures are implacably brutal. Each year, the number of French people admitted to a hospital for cancerous pathologies increases by 4 to 5%. Such a statistic is imputable not only to an aging population but also to poor dietary habits and the (over)consumption of tobacco. Wishing to combat this undeniable plague of our times, in March 2003 the French president Jacques Chirac adopted an anti-cancer plan consisting in 70 imperiously necessary measures. The message is as clear as could be ; mobilization is most urgently imperative.

At the Poitiers CHU, effective action had preceded the opening of this impressive project. “In our 2000-2005 five-year plan for the establishment, we had already projected a geographical grouping together of our main cancerology wards: medical oncology, hematological oncology and radiotherapy-based oncology”, points out Louis-Marie Challet, director of the Milétrie site and the cancerology branch. Needless to say, the timing of the anti-cancer plan was ideal, and it helped to render the Poitiers project even more ambitious. The grouping together will take on the form of a 12000 m_ building that shall be linked by skywalks to the central Jean-Bernard tower. “We have seized upon the financing opportunities presented to us”, confirms the director.

The user at the heart of the building

Just like any other French region, Poitou-Charentes shall thus have its own regional cancerology pole (the French “PRC”) on the site of the Milétrie; this establishment shall include “90 beds dedicated to cancerology”, the ambulatory area and the daytime hospital with thirty places (as opposed to today’s fifteen). “We also intend to have specialized teams supervising home-based hospitalization”, completes Louis-Marie Challet. Over 200 professionals (doctors, nurses, aides and orderlies…) shall initially be put to work at a genuine “resource center”. In the middle term, they ought to number “close to 300”.

The regional cancerology pole may fuel high hopes; that said, the patients and the medical community shall have to wait until the end of 2007, the projected opening date. A team of architects and a study office have already been selected. During the time required to “refine the project” invitations to tender are to be launched in June 2005, and the actual construction will get underway in 2006. Overall building costs shall amount to 34 million euros, of which 10 million shall be assumed by the regional hospitalization agency (the French “ARH”). The better to come to “meet user expectations”.

Hospital of Poitiers: The new emergency area is open
 
Home-based hospitalization: A unit comes into being
 
The Poitiers Biopole in the Walloon area of Belgium
 
Health for breakfast
 



BIOalternatives diversifies its markets
read...
 
Two Poitiers-based projects awarded
read...
 
IUT pores over biofuels
read...
 
Poitiers, the biotechnology capital
read...
 
PAREXEL wagers on the human factor
read...
 
Saunier and associates wish to diversify
read...
 
Biocydex and BioXtract move forward hand in hand
read...
 
The grass of champions
read...
 
Ianesco steadfastly believes in its future
read...
 
A tumorotheque, what is the purpose it serves?
read...
 
TechnAvOx has turned the corner
read...
 
Larime is aiming for 40 beds in Poitiers
read...
 
Poitiers is out to promote its research
read...
 
A true Biopole milestone
read...
 
A regional cancerology pole in the pipeline for 2007
read...
 
Nobel prize winners in Poitiers
read...
 
A platform offering numerous advantages
read...
 
@rtMolecule fashions in its own way
read...
 
It’s plastic, it’s fantastic
read...
 
The Poitiers hospital (CHU) stakes its claim
read...
 
BIOalternatives exports its know-how
read...
 
The physiological and computer science engineering program turns 30
read...
 
The Biopole takes center stage at Investiga
read...
 
 
   
  Legal mentions
English / Anglais Français / French

Reportage 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
   
     
www.vanefist.eu
DOSSIER 30 novembre 2004
 
Un pôle régional de cancérologie en 2007
 

 
Aujourd’hui, un patient sur cinq hospitalisé au CHU de Poitiers est traité pour une pathologie liée au cancer. Face à ce constat, l’établissement a décidé de se doter d’un pôle régional de cancérologie de 12.000 m2. Zoom sur un projet d’envergure avec Louis-Marie Challet, directeur du site de la Milétrie et de la filière cancérologique.

Les chiffres sont implacables. Chaque année, le nombre de Français admis à l’hôpital pour des pathologies cancéreuses croît de 4 à 5%. Une statistique pour une part imputable au vieillissement de la population certes, mais aussi à de mauvaises habitudes alimentaires et à la (sur)consommation de tabac. Pour lutter contre ce véritable fléau, le président Jacques Chirac a fait adopter, en mars 2003, un Plan cancer composé de 70 mesures impérieuses. Le message est clair : l’heure est à la mobilisation.

Au CHU de Poitiers, on n’avait pas attendu l’ouverture de ce grand chantier pour réagir. «Dans notre projet d’établissement 2000-2005, nous avions déjà prévu un rapprochement géographique de nos principaux services de cancérologie : l’oncologie médicale, l’oncologie hématologique et l’oncologie radiothérapique», admet Louis-Marie Challet, directeur du site de la Milétrie et de la filière cancérologique. Bien entendu, le Plan cancer est tombé à pic et a même renforcé l’ambition du projet. Ce rapprochement prendra la forme d’un bâtiment de 12.000 m2, relié à la Tour Jean-Bernard par des passerelles. «Nous avons saisi les opportunités de financement qui nous étaient offertes», confirme le directeur.

L’usager au cœur

Comme n’importe quelle autre région, le Poitou-Charentes va donc disposer de son PRC, sur le site de la Milétrie. Un établissement qui comportera «90 lits dédiés à la cancérologie», le plateau ambulatoire et l’hôpital de jour avec une trentaine de places (contre une quinzaine aujourd’hui). «Nous envisageons aussi que des équipes spécialisées prennent en charge des hospitalisations à domicile», complète Louis-Marie Challet. Plus de 200 personnes (médecins, infirmiers, aide-soignants…) travailleront dans un premier temps dans ce véritable «centre de ressources». À moyen terme, ils devraient être «jusqu’à 300».

Si le Pôle régional de cancérologie suscite beaucoup d’espoirs, les patients et la communauté médicale devront toutefois patienter jusqu’à la fin de l’année 2007, date d’ouverture prévue dans le calendrier. L’équipe d’architectes ainsi que le bureau d’études ont d’ores et déjà été retenus. Le temps d’«affiner le projet», les appels d’offres seront lancés en juin 2005 et le chantier débutera en 2006. Le coût des travaux s’élèvera à 34 millions d’euros, dont 10 millions pris en charge par l’Agence Régionale de l’Hospitalisation. De quoi «répondre au mieux à l’attente des usagers».

CHU de Poitiers : Les nouvelles urgences ouvertes
 
Hospitalisation à domicile : une unité voit le jour
 
Le Biopôle de Poitiers en Wallonie
 
Larime devient Mediscis
 


Tous les reportages
Consultez les archives...

BIOalternatives diversifie ses marchés
Lire...
Deux projets poitevins distingués
Lire...
L’IUT planche sur les biocombustibles
Lire...
Poitiers, capitale des biotechs
Lire...
PAREXEL mise sur l’humain
Lire...
Saunier et associés veut se diversifier
Lire...
Biocydex et BioXtract main dans la main
Lire...
Les meilleurs sur herbe
Lire...
Ianesco croit en son avenir
Lire...
Une tumorothèque, pour quoi faire ?
Lire...
TechnAvOx file un bon coton
Lire...
Larime vise 40 lits à Poitiers
Lire...
Poitiers veut valoriser sa recherche
Lire...
Le Biopôle prend date
Lire...
Un pôle régional de cancérologie en 2007
Lire...
 
  Mentions Légales
English / Anglais Français / French Accueil