Highlight 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
   
www.vanefist.eu
HOSPITAL – UNIVERSITY AGREEMENT 2005, January 27
 
Poitiers is out to promote its research
 

 
Through the signing this past December 17th of a framework agreement pertaining to teaching, research and international cooperation, the hospital (CHU) and the university of Poitiers intend to reinforce their ties. Their goal is to post meaningful results from 2006 onwards.

“Poitiers must be poised to compare itself with the hospitals of neighboring regions.” Signed by Jean-Pierre Dewitte, the managing director of Poitiers Hospital, this short sentence offers a cogent illustration of the determination of major local players to display unity so as to further the regional capital’s renown – and unity means the strengthening of links with Poitiers University. The two largest public structures of the Vienne department have come together in their common decision to build a “holy alliance” around three shared themes: teaching, research and international cooperation.

As the point of departure of their equally common history, the aforementioned convention is likely, in its initial phase, to allow for “analyzing research potential in order to render it more efficacious and easily readable”, proclaimed Jean-Pierre Gesson, current president of Poitiers University. “In two or three years, we shall have identified three or four strong points, and be posting results”, retorted Jean-Pierre Dewitte. Anything you can do, I can do better… As for Roger Gil, he is hoping that “his” Faculty of Medicine and Pharmacy shall serve as a meeting point for the two partners.

Promoting research

That said, it was well before 2004 that the university hospital center had been showcasing its research projects. A telltale example is the request for a European patent co-submitted by Poitiers University and the CHU. The theme? “Regulation of cutaneous plasticity by oncostatin M and interleukin-31”. At the outset of the project, one may note the presence of the Laboratoire Cytokines et Inflammation, the regional company Bioalternatives, and other French partners. Moreover, promotion is the role of the aptly named Cellule de valorisation de la Recherche of Poitiers University.

“I recently met Jean-Pierre Dewitte in order to make sure that the CHU would be part and parcel of the cell”, indicates an allusive Michel Roux, who is at the head of the structure. Resuscitation and intensive care, anesthesia, organ transplantation, leukemia, cerebral aging… In all these areas, Poitiers has solid arguments to put forward. Let us bet that the upcoming transfer of the Faculty of Medicine and Pharmacy from the town center to the campus shall indeed allow Poitiers to “be poised to compare itself to the hospitals of neighboring regions”.


Hospital of Poitiers: The new emergency area is open
 
Home-based hospitalization: A unit comes into being
 
The Poitiers Biopole in the Walloon area of Belgium
 
Health for breakfast
 



BIOalternatives diversifies its markets
read...
 
Two Poitiers-based projects awarded
read...
 
IUT pores over biofuels
read...
 
Poitiers, the biotechnology capital
read...
 
PAREXEL wagers on the human factor
read...
 
Saunier and associates wish to diversify
read...
 
Biocydex and BioXtract move forward hand in hand
read...
 
The grass of champions
read...
 
Ianesco steadfastly believes in its future
read...
 
A tumorotheque, what is the purpose it serves?
read...
 
TechnAvOx has turned the corner
read...
 
Larime is aiming for 40 beds in Poitiers
read...
 
Poitiers is out to promote its research
read...
 
A true Biopole milestone
read...
 
A regional cancerology pole in the pipeline for 2007
read...
 
Nobel prize winners in Poitiers
read...
 
A platform offering numerous advantages
read...
 
@rtMolecule fashions in its own way
read...
 
It’s plastic, it’s fantastic
read...
 
The Poitiers hospital (CHU) stakes its claim
read...
 
BIOalternatives exports its know-how
read...
 
The physiological and computer science engineering program turns 30
read...
 
The Biopole takes center stage at Investiga
read...
 
 
   
  Legal mentions
English / Anglais Français / French

Reportage 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
   
     
www.vanefist.eu
ACCORD CHU-UNIVERSITÉ 27 janvier 2005
 
Poitiers veut valoriser sa recherche
 

Jean-Pierre Gesson, président de l'Université, Jacques Santrot, maire de Poitiers et président de la CAP, et Jean-Pierre Dewitte  
En paraphant une convention cadre sur l’enseignement, la recherche et la coopération internationale le 17 décembre dernier, le CHU et l’Université de Poitiers entendent renforcer leurs liens. Objectif : afficher des résultats significatifs dès 2006.

«Poitiers doit pouvoir se comparer à des hôpitaux de régions voisines.» Cette petite phrase signée Jean-Pierre Dewitte, directeur général du CHU de Poitiers, illustre bien la volonté des acteurs locaux de jouer l’unité pour le rayonnement de la capitale régionale. Et qui dit unité dit rapprochement avec l’Université de Poitiers. Les deux plus grosses structures publiques de la Vienne ont donc décidé d’un commun accord de faire l’union sacrée autour de trois thématiques communes : l’enseignement, la recherche et la coopération internationale.

Point de départ d’une histoire commune, ladite convention doit, dans un premier temps, permettre d’«analyser le potentiel de recherche pour la rendre plus efficace et plus lisible», dixit Jean-Pierre Gesson, le président de l’Université de Poitiers. «D’ici deux à trois ans, nous devons identifier trois ou quatre points forts et afficher des résultats», renchérit Jean-Pierre Dewitte. De son côté, Roger Gil espère que «son» UFR de Médecine-Pharmacie constituera le point de jonction entre les deux partenaires.

Valoriser la recherche

Pour autant, le centre hospitalier universitaire n’a pas attendu 2004 pour valoriser ses travaux de recherche. Un seul exemple : la demande de brevet européen codéposé par l’Université de Poitiers et le CHU. Le thème ? «La régulation de la plasticité cutanée par l’oncostatine M et l’interleukine-31.» À l’origine de ce projet, on trouve le Laboratoire Cytokines et Inflammation, la société régionale Bioalternatives et d’autres partenaires français. Du reste, c’est le rôle de la Cellule de valorisation de la Recherche de l’Université de Poitiers.

«J’ai rencontré récemment Jean-Pierre Dewitte afin que le CHU fasse partie intégrante de la cellule», indique au passage Michel Roux, le directeur de la structure. Réanimation médicale, anesthésie, transplantation d’organe, leucémie, vieillissement cérébral… Sur tous ces sujets, Poitiers a des arguments à faire valoir. Gageons que le transfert de la Faculté de Médecine-pharmacie du centre-ville vers le campus permettra à Poitiers de «pouvoir se comparer à des hôpitaux de régions voisines».

CHU de Poitiers : Les nouvelles urgences ouvertes
 
Hospitalisation à domicile : une unité voit le jour
 
Le Biopôle de Poitiers en Wallonie
 
Larime devient Mediscis
 


Tous les reportages
Consultez les archives...

BIOalternatives diversifie ses marchés
Lire...
Deux projets poitevins distingués
Lire...
L’IUT planche sur les biocombustibles
Lire...
Poitiers, capitale des biotechs
Lire...
PAREXEL mise sur l’humain
Lire...
Saunier et associés veut se diversifier
Lire...
Biocydex et BioXtract main dans la main
Lire...
Les meilleurs sur herbe
Lire...
Ianesco croit en son avenir
Lire...
Une tumorothèque, pour quoi faire ?
Lire...
TechnAvOx file un bon coton
Lire...
Larime vise 40 lits à Poitiers
Lire...
Poitiers veut valoriser sa recherche
Lire...
Le Biopôle prend date
Lire...
Un pôle régional de cancérologie en 2007
Lire...
 
  Mentions Légales
English / Anglais Français / French Accueil