Highlight 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
   
www.vanefist.eu
CLINICAL TRIALS 2005, February 28
 
Larime is aiming for 40 beds in Poitiers
 

 
Having moved into its new premises in Poitiers, the La Rochelle-based company fully intends to develop its “clinical trials” activity in the Vienne department. Serge Fitoussi has announced expansion from 24 to 40 beds, all of which should be in place by the end of the year.

Implanted in La Rochelle since 1990, in 2004 Larime (*) commenced operations in the Poitiers area. Its choice was dictated by “a steadily growing field of activity” and the opportunity to rent a unit corresponding to the large-scale ambitions of this small but dynamic coast-based business. “I was seeking out a clinic, and this one was empty. An old unit, it had exercises the same profession as ours. We immediately seized upon the offer. And since Poitiers is easy for our customers to reach, their proximity helped prompt our decision”, assures Serge Fitoussi, a one-time executive at the Novartis mammoth.

Associated with his brother, in 2003 the interested party bought up Larime with every intention of making it prosper in terms of staff… and sales. It is easy to note that through little more than a year and a half, the directors have wasted no time. “On October 1st, 2003, there were 27 of us at Lagord; as of today, we are 43 strong on the two sites”, so he indicates. The increased number of employees has gone hand in hand with a greater capacity for hosting. On a short-term basis (by December 2005), the number of beds in the Poitiers of the unit of the CRO are likely to have grown from 24 to 40. “All in all, in one way or another we shall have 60 beds in France, and then stand as the 3rd largest CRO in the country.”

Collaborations

As a businessman in a hurry, since June 2004 Serge Fitoussi has not exactly been idling away. For instance, Larime has had no trouble reconstituting a file of healthy volunteers, and it is also developing multiple partnerships with local establishments. Some concrete examples? “Collaboration with Mr. Paquereau, numero uno of the Poitiers CHU’s encephelography ward – it contains a sleep laboratory - and also president of the French electro-encephalography society, not to mention our work with the dermatology ward.” These are needed so as to fully carry out the phase I and phase 2A studies with which laboratories entrust the small business. “We seldom perform phase 2B, in fact only when the dossiers compiled by the promoters are insufficiently documented in pharmacokinetics, indicates Serge Fitoussi.

Thanks to its new Poitiers-based unit, Larine is also capitalizing upon its “proximity” with regard to La Rochelle. “It allows us to pick up group synergy”, points out Serge Fitoussi. Speaking for myself, when I worked in Paris it took me an hour and a half to go find my way to Novatis…” To sum matters up, a human-sized company plays upon its manifest “regionalist” advantages … without thereby sealing itself off from Europe. If today’s customer rosters are 70% French and 30% foreign, the director looks forward to 2006 with the hope of inverting these figures, and having its sales skyrocket from 3.2 to 4.5 million euros.

(*) Aside from clinical research, Larime is a specialist in bioanalysis and data management.

http://www.larime.com
Hospital of Poitiers: The new emergency area is open
 
Home-based hospitalization: A unit comes into being
 
The Poitiers Biopole in the Walloon area of Belgium
 
Health for breakfast
 



BIOalternatives diversifies its markets
read...
 
Two Poitiers-based projects awarded
read...
 
IUT pores over biofuels
read...
 
Poitiers, the biotechnology capital
read...
 
PAREXEL wagers on the human factor
read...
 
Saunier and associates wish to diversify
read...
 
Biocydex and BioXtract move forward hand in hand
read...
 
The grass of champions
read...
 
Ianesco steadfastly believes in its future
read...
 
A tumorotheque, what is the purpose it serves?
read...
 
TechnAvOx has turned the corner
read...
 
Larime is aiming for 40 beds in Poitiers
read...
 
Poitiers is out to promote its research
read...
 
A true Biopole milestone
read...
 
A regional cancerology pole in the pipeline for 2007
read...
 
Nobel prize winners in Poitiers
read...
 
A platform offering numerous advantages
read...
 
@rtMolecule fashions in its own way
read...
 
It’s plastic, it’s fantastic
read...
 
The Poitiers hospital (CHU) stakes its claim
read...
 
BIOalternatives exports its know-how
read...
 
The physiological and computer science engineering program turns 30
read...
 
The Biopole takes center stage at Investiga
read...
 
 
   
  Legal mentions
English / Anglais Français / French

Reportage 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
   
     
www.vanefist.eu
ESSAIS CLINIQUES 28 février 2005
 
Larime vise 40 lits à Poitiers
 

 
En s'installant à Poitiers, la société rochelaise a bien l’intention de développer son activité «Essais cliniques» dans la Vienne. Serge Fitoussi annonce le passage de 24 à 40 lits d’ici décembre.

Implanté à La Rochelle depuis 1990, Larime (*) a posé ses valises en terres poitevines courant 2004. Un choix guidé par «une activité en pleine croissance» et l’opportunité de louer une unité conforme aux ambitions de la PME maritime. «Je cherchais une clinique, celle-ci était vide. C’est une ancienne unité qui faisait le même métier que nous. Nous avons saisi cette offre immédiatement. Poitiers est très accessible pour nos clients, ça a aussi pesé dans notre décision», assure Serge Fitoussi, ancien cadre du géant Novartis.

Associé à son frère, l’intéressé a racheté Larime en 2003 avec la ferme ambition de la faire prospérer en termes d’effectifs… et de chiffre d’affaires. Force est de constater qu’en à peine un an et demi, les dirigeants n’ont pas perdu de temps. «Au 1er octobre 2003, nous étions 27 à Lagord, aujourd’hui, nous sommes 43 sur les deux sites», indique-t-il. Cette montée en puissance du personnel s’accompagne d’une autre en matière de capacité d’accueil. À très court terme (décembre 2005), la CRO envisage de passer de 24 lits à 40 sur son unité poitevine. «Au total, nous aurons peu ou prou une soixantaine de lits sur la France. Ce qui fera de nous la troisième CRO du pays.»

Collaborations

Parce que Serge Fitoussi est un homme d’affaire pressé, il n’a pas perdu son temps en conjectures depuis juin 2004. Ainsi, Larime s’est aisément reconstitué un fichier de volontaires sains et multiplie les partenariats avec les établissements locaux. Un seul exemple? «La collaboration avec M. Paquereau, responsable du service d’encéphalographie du CHU de Poitiers et président de la société française d’électroencéphalographie qui a un laboratoire du sommeil ou encore le service de demartologie.» Une nécessité pour mener à bien les études de phase I et 2A que la PME se voit confier par les labos. «Nous faisons très rarement de la 2B, juste lorsque les dossiers montés par les promoteurs ne sont pas assez documentés en pharmacocinétique», précise Serge Fitoussi.

Grâce à sa nouvelle unité poitevine, Larime joue aussi la carte de «la proximité» avec La Rochelle. «Cela permet de dégager des synergies de groupe», assure Serge Fitoussi. Personnellement, je mettais une heure et demie pour me rendre chez Novartis quand je travaillais sur Paris…» Bref, la PME met en avant l’atout régionaliste. Sans se fermer les portes de l’Europe. Si, aujourd’hui, sa clientèle est française à 70% et étrangère à 30%, le dirigeant espère inverser la tendance à l’horizon 2006. Et passer par la même de 3,2 à 4,5 millions d’euros de chiffre d’affaires.

(*) Outre la recherche clinique, Larime est spécialisée dans la bioanalyse, et le data management.


http://www.larime.com
CHU de Poitiers : Les nouvelles urgences ouvertes
 
Hospitalisation à domicile : une unité voit le jour
 
Le Biopôle de Poitiers en Wallonie
 
Larime devient Mediscis
 


Tous les reportages
Consultez les archives...

BIOalternatives diversifie ses marchés
Lire...
Deux projets poitevins distingués
Lire...
L’IUT planche sur les biocombustibles
Lire...
Poitiers, capitale des biotechs
Lire...
PAREXEL mise sur l’humain
Lire...
Saunier et associés veut se diversifier
Lire...
Biocydex et BioXtract main dans la main
Lire...
Les meilleurs sur herbe
Lire...
Ianesco croit en son avenir
Lire...
Une tumorothèque, pour quoi faire ?
Lire...
TechnAvOx file un bon coton
Lire...
Larime vise 40 lits à Poitiers
Lire...
Poitiers veut valoriser sa recherche
Lire...
Le Biopôle prend date
Lire...
Un pôle régional de cancérologie en 2007
Lire...
 
  Mentions Légales
English / Anglais Français / French Accueil