Highlight 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
   
www.vanefist.eu
POITIERS HOSPITAL 2005, April 15
 
A tumorotheque, what is the purpose it serves?
 

 
The Poitiers CHU stores in a cool place over 1000 tumor samples removed from patients. As head of the pathological anatomy and cytology ward, Pierre Levillain allowed us to enter the tumorotheque.

We are visiting an ordinary room at the second basement level of Poitiers Hospital. Two vertical freezers occupy the brunt of the space. One of them is empty, while the other contains a thousand tumors. Behind the banality of the appearances, we are in fact at the heart of the medical establishment’s tumorotheque. It is closely guarded. Two alarms are linked up with the hospital’s security system; if the temperature climbs abnormally, agents are called upon to intervene. Preserved at –80 degrees, the samples are in “danger” at around –60. If nobody restores the right temperature within a reasonable lapse of time (a few dozen minutes), bottles of carbonic acid may come to the rescue.

But what is the precious cargo in the freezers that necessitates such quickly materializing mobilization? Tissue samples of tumors, to be sure, yet there is more to it than that. “Quite often, with patient consent, we likewise freeze healthy tissues, which may be of significance when compared with tumors”, adds Professor Levillain, who is the head of the pathological anatomy and cytology ward. A veritable “collection of frozen tumors” is now considered indispensable, to say the least… Freezing differs from other means of preservation insofar as it may keep intact the properties of the tissues, most notably proteins and nucleic acids.

“Refined diagnoses”


“We have been freezing tissues for quite a while. The one difference today is that the freezing of fragments is systematic”, adds Professor Levillain. Such automaticity allows not only for “refined diagnoses” and the treatments best adapted to patients, but also facilitates molecular biology studies on these samples, with diagnostic and therapeutic research posited as a goal. The interest of the Poitiers Hospital tumorotheque has consequently grown obvious in the eyes of doctors, surgeons and other researchers, and more particularly in the framework of its having been given a brand name in July 2004 by the management of hospitalization and organization of medical care (the French DHOS).

Having achieved this milestone, the Poitiers hospital center has reinforced its credibility in the overall scope of the Canceropole Grand-Ouest and thereby paved the way for full-scale collaboration with its analogous neighbors in Rennes, Nantes, Angers, Tours, Brest and Le Mans. The head of the pathological anatomy and cytology ward herein concludes: “We already belong to the tumorotheque network of the Grand-Ouest. Two software information specialists are working now in Rennes and shall soon be in Poitiers so as set up a virtual tumorotheque, that is to say a veritable anonymous data bank to be consulted by cancerology research teams subsequent to the agreement of the medico-scientific committee striving to ensure full respect of the rules of bio-ethics”.


http://www.chu-poitiers.fr
Hospital of Poitiers: The new emergency area is open
 
Home-based hospitalization: A unit comes into being
 
The Poitiers Biopole in the Walloon area of Belgium
 
Health for breakfast
 



BIOalternatives diversifies its markets
read...
 
Two Poitiers-based projects awarded
read...
 
IUT pores over biofuels
read...
 
Poitiers, the biotechnology capital
read...
 
PAREXEL wagers on the human factor
read...
 
Saunier and associates wish to diversify
read...
 
Biocydex and BioXtract move forward hand in hand
read...
 
The grass of champions
read...
 
Ianesco steadfastly believes in its future
read...
 
A tumorotheque, what is the purpose it serves?
read...
 
TechnAvOx has turned the corner
read...
 
Larime is aiming for 40 beds in Poitiers
read...
 
Poitiers is out to promote its research
read...
 
A true Biopole milestone
read...
 
A regional cancerology pole in the pipeline for 2007
read...
 
Nobel prize winners in Poitiers
read...
 
A platform offering numerous advantages
read...
 
@rtMolecule fashions in its own way
read...
 
It’s plastic, it’s fantastic
read...
 
The Poitiers hospital (CHU) stakes its claim
read...
 
BIOalternatives exports its know-how
read...
 
The physiological and computer science engineering program turns 30
read...
 
The Biopole takes center stage at Investiga
read...
 
 
   
  Legal mentions
English / Anglais Français / French

Reportage 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
   
     
www.vanefist.eu
CHU DE POITIERS 15 avril 2005
 
Une tumorothèque, pour quoi faire ?
 

La tumorothèque compte plus de 1.000 échantillons de tumeurs prélevées sur des patients.  
Le CHU de Poitiers conserve au frais plus de 1.000 échantillons tumoraux prélevés sur des patients. Chef du service d’anatomie et cytologie pathologiques, Pierre Levillain nous a ouvert les portes de la tumorothèque.

Une salle ordinaire au niveau moins 2 du CHU de Poitiers. Deux congélateurs verticaux occupent la majeure partie de l’espace. L’un est vide, l’autre contient un millier de tumeurs. Derrière ces apparences banales, nous sommes en plein cœur de la tumorothèque de l’établissement de soins. Un lieu hautement surveillé. Deux alarmes relient le système de sécurité de l’hôpital. Si la température vient à remonter anormalement, les agents interviennent. Conservés à –80 degrés, les prélèvements sont en «danger» autour de –60. Si personne ne rétablit la température dans un délai raisonnable (quelques dizaines de minutes), des bouteilles de gaz carbonique prennent même le relais.

Mais qu’y a-t-il de si précieux à l’intérieur de ces congélateurs pour nécessiter un tel déploiement de forces ? Des échantillons tissulaires de tumeurs… mais pas seulement. «Très souvent, avec l’accord des patients, nous congelons aussi des tissus sains, ce qui peut être important pour les comparer aux tumeurs», ajoute le Pr Levillain, chef du service d’anatomie et cytologie pathologiques. Cette véritable «collection de tumeurs congelées» s’avère aujourd’hui plus qu’indispensable. Contrairement aux autres modes de conservation, la congélation permet en effet de garder intactes les propriétés des tissus, notamment les acides nucléiques et les protéines.

«Affiner les diagnostics»

«Nous congelons les tissus depuis longtemps. La seule différence, c’est qu’aujourd’hui la congélation des fragments est systématique», poursuit le Pr Levillain. Une automaticité qui permet non seulement «d’affiner les diagnostics», d’assurer aux patients les traitements les plus adaptés, mais également d’effectuer des études de biologie moléculaire sur ces prélèvements dans un but de recherche diagnostique et thérapeutique. L’intérêt de la tumorothèque du CHU de Poitiers s’impose donc comme une évidence aux yeux des médecins, chirurgiens et autres chercheurs. A fortiori depuis sa labellisation par la Direction de l’hospitalisation et de l’organisation des soins (DHOS) en juillet 2004.

En franchissant cette étape, le centre hospitalier poitevin a renforcé sa crédibilité dans le cadre du Cancéropôle Grand-Ouest. Et s’est ouvert les portes d’une collaboration grandeur nature avec ses homologues de Rennes, Nantes, Angers, Tours, Brest et Le Mans. «Nous faisons déjà partie du réseau des tumorothèques du Grand-Ouest. Deux informaticiens travaillent aujourd’hui à Rennes et bientôt à Poitiers afin de mettre en place une tumorothèque virtuelle, véritable base de données anonymisée qui pourra être consultée par les équipes de recherche en cancérologie après accord d’un Comité médico-scientifique veillant au respect des règles de bio-éthique», conclut le chef du service d’anatomie et cytologie pathologiques.

http://www.chu-poitiers.fr
CHU de Poitiers : Les nouvelles urgences ouvertes
 
Hospitalisation à domicile : une unité voit le jour
 
Le Biopôle de Poitiers en Wallonie
 
Larime devient Mediscis
 


Tous les reportages
Consultez les archives...

BIOalternatives diversifie ses marchés
Lire...
Deux projets poitevins distingués
Lire...
L’IUT planche sur les biocombustibles
Lire...
Poitiers, capitale des biotechs
Lire...
PAREXEL mise sur l’humain
Lire...
Saunier et associés veut se diversifier
Lire...
Biocydex et BioXtract main dans la main
Lire...
Les meilleurs sur herbe
Lire...
Ianesco croit en son avenir
Lire...
Une tumorothèque, pour quoi faire ?
Lire...
TechnAvOx file un bon coton
Lire...
Larime vise 40 lits à Poitiers
Lire...
Poitiers veut valoriser sa recherche
Lire...
Le Biopôle prend date
Lire...
Un pôle régional de cancérologie en 2007
Lire...
 
  Mentions Légales
English / Anglais Français / French Accueil