Highlight 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
   
www.vanefist.eu
HEALTH 2005, July 13
 
Biocydex and BioXtract move forward hand in hand
 

 
Biocydex has just concluded a partnership agreement with BioXtract, its Walloon alter ego. For Yves Ceatiempo and Mustapha Belgsir, the directors of the fledgling scientific start-up of the Poitiers Biopole, this is a deal made in heaven.

Nine salaried employees, three years of existence, similar university beginnings... Except for the accent, nothing really distinguishes the respective directorships of Biocydex and BioXtract. And in fact, these two human-sized businesses in the health field rapidly realized that they were truly on the same wave length. They also share another appreciable common point, which is that they both belong to networks: on the one hand the Poitiers Biopole, and on the other hand the (Walloon-based) Namur Agrobiopole. “We met for the first time in October 2004 at the initiative of the CAP (of Greater Poitiers)”, recalls Mustapha Belgsir, the general manager of the Poitiers-based scientific start-up enterprise. The Biopole had brought along a delegation composed of firms, and Biocydex was one of them.

Having been placed in contact with each other, the two structures carried on their discussions prior to signing their partnership agreement this past April. “We are specialized in the selection, the extraction and the formulation of plant-based ingredients”, specifies Fabien Priem, the general manager of BioXtract, of which the domains of predilection are pharmacy, phytotherapy and the food processing industry. “We were looking for a partner able to render our products soluble and enhance their active principles”. And a partner is exactly what the Walloon-based company found; the specialty of its Poitiers-based counterpart is... solubilizing molecules and optimizing their active principles!

An anti-inflammatory product

Following a “conclusive” initial phase of testing, the two partners are planning to pursue their collaboration over the coming months. They should once again be communicating hand in hand on the occasion of the issuance of the first product stemming from the work they will have done together. “It is an anti-inflammatory product that will be on the market by the first quarter of 2006 at the latest”, adds Fabien Priem. France, Great Britain, the United States and northern Europe are the first countries or regions slated to proceed to commercialization.

As regards “the affair”, Catherine Coutelle is by no means the last official to rejoice. The vice president of the CAP in charge of economic activities is proud of the fact that it was thanks to a delegation shepherded by Greater Poitiers that Biocydex came into contact with its new Belgian partner. “It goes to show that the international networking policy is reaping fruit”. What is more, other Biopole structures such as Géniflore, Isoclin and Valagro may well be next in line to sign commercial agreements with their Belgian counterparts.

Hospital of Poitiers: The new emergency area is open
 
Home-based hospitalization: A unit comes into being
 
The Poitiers Biopole in the Walloon area of Belgium
 
Health for breakfast
 



BIOalternatives diversifies its markets
read...
 
Two Poitiers-based projects awarded
read...
 
IUT pores over biofuels
read...
 
Poitiers, the biotechnology capital
read...
 
PAREXEL wagers on the human factor
read...
 
Saunier and associates wish to diversify
read...
 
Biocydex and BioXtract move forward hand in hand
read...
 
The grass of champions
read...
 
Ianesco steadfastly believes in its future
read...
 
A tumorotheque, what is the purpose it serves?
read...
 
TechnAvOx has turned the corner
read...
 
Larime is aiming for 40 beds in Poitiers
read...
 
Poitiers is out to promote its research
read...
 
A true Biopole milestone
read...
 
A regional cancerology pole in the pipeline for 2007
read...
 
Nobel prize winners in Poitiers
read...
 
A platform offering numerous advantages
read...
 
@rtMolecule fashions in its own way
read...
 
It’s plastic, it’s fantastic
read...
 
The Poitiers hospital (CHU) stakes its claim
read...
 
BIOalternatives exports its know-how
read...
 
The physiological and computer science engineering program turns 30
read...
 
The Biopole takes center stage at Investiga
read...
 
 
   
  Legal mentions
English / Anglais Français / French

Reportage 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
   
     
www.vanefist.eu
SANTÉ 13 juillet 2005
 
Biocydex et BioXtract main dans la main
 

Les dirigeants de Biocydex et BioXtract vont poursuivre leur partenariat.  
Biocydex vient de conclure un partenariat avec Bioxtract, son alter ego wallon. Une excellente affaire selon Yves Cenatiempo et Mustapha Belgsir, les dirigeants de la jeune start-up scientifique du Biopôle de Poitiers.

Neuf salariés, trois ans d’existence, une origine universitaire… Excepté l’accent (et encore !), rien ne sépare vraiment les «états-majors» de Biocydex et BioXtract. À telle enseigne que ces deux PME du secteur de la santé ont rapidement été branchées sur la même longueur d’ondes. Elles partagent en effet un autre point commun de taille : appartenir à des réseaux. En l’espèce le Biopôle de Poitiers et l’Agrobiopôle wallon de Namur (*). «Nous nous sommes rencontrés la première fois à l’initiative de la Cap en octobre 2004», se souvient Mustapha Belgsir, le directeur général de la start-up scientifique poitevine. Le Biopôle avait emmené dans ses bagages une délégation d’entreprises, dont Biocydex.

Une excellente idée avec du recul. Mises en relation, les deux structures ont d’abord poursuivi leurs discussions à distance avant de signer un partenariat en avril dernier. «Nous sommes spécialisés dans la sélection, l’extraction et la formulation d’ingrédients à base de plantes», détaille Fabien Priem, directeur général de BioXtract. Secteurs de prédilection ? La pharmacie, la phytothérapie et l’industrie agroalimentaire. «Nous cherchions un partenaire capable de solubiliser nos produits et d’en améliorer les principes actifs.» Ce partenaire, la société wallonne l’a trouvé ! Solubiliser les molécules et optimiser leurs principes actifs, c’est justement la spécialité de la PME poitevine !

Un anti-inflammatoire

Après une première phase de tests «concluante», les deux partenaires vont continuer à collaborer dans les prochains mois. Elles devraient à nouveau communiquer ensemble à l’occasion de la sortie du premier produit issu de ce travail commun. «Il s’agit d’un anti-inflammatoire qui sera sur le marché au plus tard dans le courant du premier trimestre 2006», poursuit Fabien Priem. France, Grande-Bretagne, Etats-Unis, Europe du Nord seront les premiers pays à le commercialiser.

Dans «l’affaire», Catherine Coutelle n’est pas la dernière à se réjouir. La vice-présidente de la Cap en charge de l’Economie se félicite que Biocydex soit entrée en contact avec son partenaire belge via une délégation emmenée par la communauté d’agglomération. «Cela prouve que la politique de maillage à l’international porte ses fruits.» Du reste, d’autres structures du Biopôle telles que Géniflore, Isoclin ou encore Valagro pourraient également signer des accords commerciaux avec leurs homologues belges dans les mois à venir.

(*) Les deux villes sont membres du réseau Sésame, au même titre que Coimbra (Portugal), Lafayette (Etats-Unis)…


CHU de Poitiers : Les nouvelles urgences ouvertes
 
Hospitalisation à domicile : une unité voit le jour
 
Le Biopôle de Poitiers en Wallonie
 
Larime devient Mediscis
 


Tous les reportages
Consultez les archives...

BIOalternatives diversifie ses marchés
Lire...
Deux projets poitevins distingués
Lire...
L’IUT planche sur les biocombustibles
Lire...
Poitiers, capitale des biotechs
Lire...
PAREXEL mise sur l’humain
Lire...
Saunier et associés veut se diversifier
Lire...
Biocydex et BioXtract main dans la main
Lire...
Les meilleurs sur herbe
Lire...
Ianesco croit en son avenir
Lire...
Une tumorothèque, pour quoi faire ?
Lire...
TechnAvOx file un bon coton
Lire...
Larime vise 40 lits à Poitiers
Lire...
Poitiers veut valoriser sa recherche
Lire...
Le Biopôle prend date
Lire...
Un pôle régional de cancérologie en 2007
Lire...
 
  Mentions Légales
English / Anglais Français / French Accueil