Highlight 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
   
www.vanefist.eu
BIOTECHNOLOGY 2005, October 7
 
PAREXEL wagers on the human factor
 
 
A specialist in bioanalysis, the unsung Poitiers-based company has just invested 1.6 million euros in state-of-the-art instruments. As a result, in less than two years, PAREXEL Poitiers has doubled its business volume.

“To live happily, remain hidden”. For several years, the PAREXEL Poitiers managers made this maxim their own… until they piqued the curiosity of the neighboring economic movers and shakers. Then again, what exactly is hidden behind the doors of 144, rue de la Gibauderie? These days, the new management team overseen by Dominic Allen has chosen to “play transparency” and open itself up to “local life”. One consequence of this choice is to lift a corner of the veil covering the activities of the group of which the human-sized business in Poitiers is a part. After all, PAREXEL International is a leading global bio/pharmaceutical services organization,. “We carry out operations on 51 sites in 37 countries all over the world”, volunteers Sébastien Duval, the commercial manager of PAREXEL Poitiers.

In Poitiers, the group’s activities are centered on bioanalysis. Clinical trials have been transferred to other centers such as the one located in South Africa; this “strategic reorientation” was decided upon in at the uppermost echelon. “In Poitiers, we had 20 beds as opposed to 400 worldwide. We preferred to focus more closely on bioanalysis, explains Dominic Allen, who is in charge of this structure. Held in high regard thanks to the quality of its teams – English, German and French are spoken -, the center in Poitiers has bolstered itself appreciably since 2003. Eighteen staff have joined the team, so that PAREXEL Poitiers now totals 43 salaried employees.

Recruitment is by no means easy

That said, the principle investment has been in equipment and instruments; over 1.6 million euros have been spent for the purchase of the most efficient machines available, the best on the market. “We have boosted our production capacity by 75%. It’s simple, in less than two years, we have doubled the number of studies on the site”, indicates Catherine Bulcort, the production laboratory manager. What is more, PAREXEL has acquired a top of the range laboratory information management system. Is the best yet to come? It’s too early to say… Be that as it may, “the order books are growing exponentially” and sales are going up just as rapidly, adds Sébastien Duval.

Better still, PAREXEL Poitiers is maintaining its position, despite the “cut price” competition from “low cost” countries (India, China…) where the price for the same service can be three or four times less… What might be its secret weapon, if not the overall force of the group along with in-house know-how? “That is invaluable, it is priceless…”, insists Dominic Allen, who gives as an example an Indian company whose medicines are about to be analyzed by his laboratory. Anything goes! And yet, there is one particular challenge: PAREXEL is struggling to recruit qualified staff to fill specific positions. At this time, “there are seven vacancies”. “Hiring the right people is an ever-present challenge”, Dominic Allen readily admits.


Hospital of Poitiers: The new emergency area is open
 
Home-based hospitalization: A unit comes into being
 
The Poitiers Biopole in the Walloon area of Belgium
 
Health for breakfast
 



BIOalternatives diversifies its markets
read...
 
Two Poitiers-based projects awarded
read...
 
IUT pores over biofuels
read...
 
Poitiers, the biotechnology capital
read...
 
PAREXEL wagers on the human factor
read...
 
Saunier and associates wish to diversify
read...
 
Biocydex and BioXtract move forward hand in hand
read...
 
The grass of champions
read...
 
Ianesco steadfastly believes in its future
read...
 
A tumorotheque, what is the purpose it serves?
read...
 
TechnAvOx has turned the corner
read...
 
Larime is aiming for 40 beds in Poitiers
read...
 
Poitiers is out to promote its research
read...
 
A true Biopole milestone
read...
 
A regional cancerology pole in the pipeline for 2007
read...
 
Nobel prize winners in Poitiers
read...
 
A platform offering numerous advantages
read...
 
@rtMolecule fashions in its own way
read...
 
It’s plastic, it’s fantastic
read...
 
The Poitiers hospital (CHU) stakes its claim
read...
 
BIOalternatives exports its know-how
read...
 
The physiological and computer science engineering program turns 30
read...
 
The Biopole takes center stage at Investiga
read...
 
 
   
  Legal mentions
English / Anglais Français / French

Reportage 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
   
     
www.vanefist.eu
BIOTECHNOLOGIES 7 octobre 2005
 
PAREXEL mise sur l’humain
 
 
Spécialiste de la bioanalyse, la discrète société poitevine vient d’investir 1,6 million d’euro dans des machines ultra-perfectionnées. Résultat : en moins de deux ans, PAREXEL Poitiers a doublé son volume d’activités.

«Pour vivre heureux, vivons cachés.» Pendant plusieurs années, les dirigeants de PAREXEL Poitiers ont adopté cette maxime. Au point d’attiser la curiosité du monde économique local. Mais qui se cache exactement derrière les murs du 144, de la rue de la Gibauderie ? Aujourd’hui, la nouvelle équipe de direction conduite par Dominic Allen a décidé de «jouer la transparence» et de s’ouvrir sur «la vie locale». Et, par ricochet, de lever un coin du voile sur les activités du groupe auquel la PME poitevine est adossée. Car PAREXEL International, c’est avant tout l’une des premières organisations mondiales de services pour le secteur biopharmaceutique. «Nous opérons sur 51 sites et 37 pays à travers le monde», remarque d’entrée Sébastien Duval, le directeur commercial de PAREXEL Poitiers.

À Poitiers justement, l’activité du groupe se concentre sur la bioanalyse. Les essais cliniques ont été «abandonnés» au profit d’autres centres comme celui d’Afrique du Sud. Une «réorientation stratégique» décidée en hauts lieux. «À Poitiers, nous avions 20 lits contre 400 au niveau mondial. Nous avons préféré nous recentrer sur la bioanalyse», explique Dominic Allen, le manager de la structure. Réputé pour la qualité de ses équipes -on y parle anglais, allemand, français-, le centre poitevin s’est considérablement renforcé depuis 2003. Dix-huit collaborateurs ont intégré l’équipe, si bien que PAREXEL Poitiers compte aujourd’hui 43 salariés.

Recrutement difficile

Mais le «gros» de l’investissement a été consenti au niveau du matériel. Plus d’1,6 million d’euro ont été injectés dans l’achat de machines ultra-performantes. Les meilleures du marché. «Nous avons augmenté notre capacité de production de 75%. C’est simple, en moins de deux ans, nous avons doublé le nombre d’études sur le site. Nous en assurons aujourd’hui 150 par an», indique Catherine Bulcourt, directrice du laboratoire-production. PAREXEL s’est par ailleurs dotée d’un logiciel de gestion des laboratoires sans équivalent. De quoi voir venir ? Difficile à dire… Toujours est-il que «les carnets de commandes explosent» et que le chiffre d’affaires suit la même courbe, ajoute Sébastien Duval.

Mieux, PAREXEL Poitiers rivalise avec la concurrence des «low cost». Ces pays à bas coûts (Inde, Chine…) où le tarif d’une même prestation est divisé par trois ou quatre voire plus. Son secret ? La force du groupe et le savoir-faire maison. «Ça n’a pas de prix…», insiste Dominic Allen qui cite en exemple cette société indienne dont les médicaments vont être analysés par «son» laboratoire. Le monde à l’envers ! Seule ombre au tableau : PAREXEL au du mal à recruter des collaborateurs qualifiés sur des postes particuliers. Aujourd’hui, «sept postes sont à pourvoir». «C’est toujours un défi de trouver du personnel adéquat», admet Dominic Allen.


CHU de Poitiers : Les nouvelles urgences ouvertes
 
Hospitalisation à domicile : une unité voit le jour
 
Le Biopôle de Poitiers en Wallonie
 
Larime devient Mediscis
 


Tous les reportages
Consultez les archives...

BIOalternatives diversifie ses marchés
Lire...
Deux projets poitevins distingués
Lire...
L’IUT planche sur les biocombustibles
Lire...
Poitiers, capitale des biotechs
Lire...
PAREXEL mise sur l’humain
Lire...
Saunier et associés veut se diversifier
Lire...
Biocydex et BioXtract main dans la main
Lire...
Les meilleurs sur herbe
Lire...
Ianesco croit en son avenir
Lire...
Une tumorothèque, pour quoi faire ?
Lire...
TechnAvOx file un bon coton
Lire...
Larime vise 40 lits à Poitiers
Lire...
Poitiers veut valoriser sa recherche
Lire...
Le Biopôle prend date
Lire...
Un pôle régional de cancérologie en 2007
Lire...
 
  Mentions Légales
English / Anglais Français / French Accueil