Highlight 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
   
www.vanefist.eu
ENERGY 2005, November 21
 
IUT pores over biofuels
 

 
At the behest of the Region, the thermal engineering and energy department of the Poitiers IUT (university technology institute) is presently poring over biofuels… The objective consists in determining whether or not agricultural products may be used for heating. The answer is awaited in 2006.

Sky-high prices for the usual combustible fuels, uncertainty as to how long they will wind up lasting… For the Region, as is the case elsewhere, today’s energy crisis is a cause for concern. And so, after having launched two large-scale work projects on the themes of biofuels and eco-energies, the authorities have ordered a new study by Valagro (*) on combustible biofuels. How might be possible, in other words, to heat public buildings (and that’s just the beginning!) with products derived from regional agriculture?

At the outset, it will nevertheless be necessary to proceed to different studies in order to learn “how to use the canola seed or the sunflower, in solid or liquid form”. And it is with this in mind that the thermal engineering and energy department of the Poitiers IUT comes into play. “Valagro has commissioned us to perform several studies”, confirms Jean-Luc Demenet, the department chairman. In this respect, the university institute is called upon to measure the energy quality (in other words, the calorific power) as well as the viscosity of the products. Pollution studies are sure to ensue.

Results awaited in June 2006

Will liquid from the canola soon permeate our boilers? As of now, it’s anything but a safe bet! “It will first be necessary to see how combustible fuels actually burn in traditional boilers”, recommends a cautious Alain Teillet, a teacher and thermal specialist at the Poitiers IUT. And in order to go through with the entire process, the establishment will need to invest in new materials – such as a boiler with granules of wood. An application has been filed with the Region.

As regards human resources, on the other hand, the IUT is decidedly … resourceful. Five professors have been poring over the “biofuel” file, as is a group of third-year students close to a degree in the “valorizing of renewable energies and energy techniques” (the French VERTE). “In a way, this project has come in the nick of time, and is rewarding the work we’ve furnished”, posits a proud Jean-Luc Demenet. As of now, in all likelihood the results of today’s sundry studies are due for June 2006 “at the latest”.

(*) The unit valorizing agro-resources

Contact: Jean-Luc Demenet at 05 49 45 34 12

Hospital of Poitiers: The new emergency area is open
 
Home-based hospitalization: A unit comes into being
 
The Poitiers Biopole in the Walloon area of Belgium
 
Health for breakfast
 



BIOalternatives diversifies its markets
read...
 
Two Poitiers-based projects awarded
read...
 
IUT pores over biofuels
read...
 
Poitiers, the biotechnology capital
read...
 
PAREXEL wagers on the human factor
read...
 
Saunier and associates wish to diversify
read...
 
Biocydex and BioXtract move forward hand in hand
read...
 
The grass of champions
read...
 
Ianesco steadfastly believes in its future
read...
 
A tumorotheque, what is the purpose it serves?
read...
 
TechnAvOx has turned the corner
read...
 
Larime is aiming for 40 beds in Poitiers
read...
 
Poitiers is out to promote its research
read...
 
A true Biopole milestone
read...
 
A regional cancerology pole in the pipeline for 2007
read...
 
Nobel prize winners in Poitiers
read...
 
A platform offering numerous advantages
read...
 
@rtMolecule fashions in its own way
read...
 
It’s plastic, it’s fantastic
read...
 
The Poitiers hospital (CHU) stakes its claim
read...
 
BIOalternatives exports its know-how
read...
 
The physiological and computer science engineering program turns 30
read...
 
The Biopole takes center stage at Investiga
read...
 
 
   
  Legal mentions
English / Anglais Français / French

Reportage 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
   
     
www.vanefist.eu
ÉNERGIE 21 novembre 2005
 
L’IUT planche sur les biocombustibles
 

 
Sur demande de la Région, le Département Génie thermique et énergie de l’IUT de Poitiers planche actuellement sur les biocombustibles. L’objectif consiste à savoir si on peut utiliser des produits agricoles pour se chauffer. Réponse courant 2006.

Explosion du coût des combustibles traditionnels, incertitude sur leur pérennité… À la Région comme ailleurs, la crise énergétique actuelle ne laisse pas insensible. Aussi, après avoir lancé deux grands chantiers sur le thème des biocarburants et les éco-énergies, la collectivité a commandé une nouvelle étude à Valagro (*) sur les biocombustibles. Ou comment, à partir des produits issus de l’agriculture régionale, chauffer les bâtiments publics… voire plus.

Au préalable, il convient toutefois de procéder à différentes études afin de savoir «comment utiliser le colza et le tournesol, sous forme solide ou liquide». Et c’est là que le Département Génie thermique et énergie de l’IUT de Poitiers intervient. «Valagro nous a mandatés pour assurer plusieurs études», confirme Jean-Luc Demenet, directeur du Département. En l’espèce, l’Institut doit mesurer la qualité énergétique (autrement dit, le pouvoir calorifique) des produits ainsi que leur viscosité. Sans oublier les études de pollution qui en découlent

Résultats en juin 2006

Du colza liquide demain dans nos chaudières ? Rien n’est moins sûr à l’heure où l’on écrit ces lignes. «Il faut d’abord voir comment les combustibles brûlent dans les chaudières classiques», tempère Alain Teillet, enseignant thermicien à l’IUT de Poitiers. Et, pour aller au bout du processus, l’établissement a besoin d’investir dans de nouveaux matériaux. À commencer par une chaudière à granulés de bois. Un dossier dans ce sens a été soumis à la Région.

En termes de ressources humaines, en revanche, l’IUT a de la ressource. Cinq professeurs planchent sur le dossier «biocombustibles», ainsi qu’un groupe d’étudiants de la licence Valorisation des énergies renouvelables et techniques énergétiques (VERTE). «Dans un sens, ce projet tombe à pic et récompense le travail fourni chez nous», se félicite Jean-Luc Demenet. A priori, les résultats des différentes études en cours devraient tomber «au plus tard» en juin 2006.

(*) La Cellule de valorisation des agro-ressources.

Contact: Jean-Luc Demenet au 05 49 45 34 12

CHU de Poitiers : Les nouvelles urgences ouvertes
 
Hospitalisation à domicile : une unité voit le jour
 
Le Biopôle de Poitiers en Wallonie
 
Larime devient Mediscis
 


Tous les reportages
Consultez les archives...

BIOalternatives diversifie ses marchés
Lire...
Deux projets poitevins distingués
Lire...
L’IUT planche sur les biocombustibles
Lire...
Poitiers, capitale des biotechs
Lire...
PAREXEL mise sur l’humain
Lire...
Saunier et associés veut se diversifier
Lire...
Biocydex et BioXtract main dans la main
Lire...
Les meilleurs sur herbe
Lire...
Ianesco croit en son avenir
Lire...
Une tumorothèque, pour quoi faire ?
Lire...
TechnAvOx file un bon coton
Lire...
Larime vise 40 lits à Poitiers
Lire...
Poitiers veut valoriser sa recherche
Lire...
Le Biopôle prend date
Lire...
Un pôle régional de cancérologie en 2007
Lire...
 
  Mentions Légales
English / Anglais Français / French Accueil