Highlight 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
   
www.vanefist.eu
CANCEROPOLE 2005, December 23
 
Two Poitiers-based projects awarded
 

 
Jean-Loup Huret with his “atlas of genetics” and the Poitiers University laboratory of “Synthesis and reactivity of natural substances” have both made the final cut in the request for proposals of the French National Cancer Institute.

136 proposals filed nationwide, 11 of them via the “Canceropole Grand-Ouest”, only 2 singled out and selected in Poitou-Charentes… These simple figures highlight the dimensions of the “feat” brought about by the Poitiers-based teams at work on the subject of cancer. “This proves that Poitiers manages rather decently”, laconically admits Jean-Loup Huret, senior lecturer and hospital practitioner at the Poitiers CHU. A prime example is the Poitiers University laboratory of “Synthesis and reactivity of natural substances”, which is directed by André Amblès.

Ambles was selected for his proposal envisioning “development of an efficient strategy enabling preparation of a sizable number of analogous and patentable compounds with a molecule of natural origin possessing strong anti-mitotic potential”. As for the second theme chosen subsequent to the national cancer institute’s requests for proposals, the award went to the Atlas of genetics and cytogenetics in oncology and hematology, a document constantly updated by Jean-Louis Huret.

3000 visitors a day

Ever since 1997, the hospital doctor and “his” 500 European and North American authors have been contributing to the internet site known as infobiggen.fr/services/chromcancer and its 12000 present-day pages. “When they decided to aid us in 2006 and 2007, the people at the National Cancer Institute no doubt realized that our work was of public interest. This is fortunate and basically quite logical…, so he opines. Just like the Cancer Genome Anatomy Project (CGAP) in the United States and Orpha.net, its portal is now authoritative in the medical sphere. In fact, the Atlas receives 3000 single visitors a day.

Internauts from throughout the world come to share or search for information pertaining to the rarest forms of genetic illnesses. The one damper on the project is that Jean-Loup Huret sorely lacks needed financial assistance. “The fight against cancer is in perennial need of support”, gauges the researcher. Aside from his authors, all of whom are quite naturally volunteers, Huret can count on but one salaried employee to update the site, of which it should be mentioned that parts are available in English, German, Spanish … and French. “An estimated 4000 cancer genes exist. In our Atlas, we only inventory 400. To go farther, we require more means”, so concludes the interested party. For reference, let us mention that the CGAP and Orpha.net have 60 and 25 full-timers at their respective disposal.




Web site: www.infobiogen.fr/services/chromcancer
Hospital of Poitiers: The new emergency area is open
 
Home-based hospitalization: A unit comes into being
 
The Poitiers Biopole in the Walloon area of Belgium
 
Health for breakfast
 



BIOalternatives diversifies its markets
read...
 
Two Poitiers-based projects awarded
read...
 
IUT pores over biofuels
read...
 
Poitiers, the biotechnology capital
read...
 
PAREXEL wagers on the human factor
read...
 
Saunier and associates wish to diversify
read...
 
Biocydex and BioXtract move forward hand in hand
read...
 
The grass of champions
read...
 
Ianesco steadfastly believes in its future
read...
 
A tumorotheque, what is the purpose it serves?
read...
 
TechnAvOx has turned the corner
read...
 
Larime is aiming for 40 beds in Poitiers
read...
 
Poitiers is out to promote its research
read...
 
A true Biopole milestone
read...
 
A regional cancerology pole in the pipeline for 2007
read...
 
Nobel prize winners in Poitiers
read...
 
A platform offering numerous advantages
read...
 
@rtMolecule fashions in its own way
read...
 
It’s plastic, it’s fantastic
read...
 
The Poitiers hospital (CHU) stakes its claim
read...
 
BIOalternatives exports its know-how
read...
 
The physiological and computer science engineering program turns 30
read...
 
The Biopole takes center stage at Investiga
read...
 
 
   
  Legal mentions
English / Anglais Français / French

Reportage 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
 
 
   
     
www.vanefist.eu
CANCÉROPÔLE 23 décembre 2005
 
Deux projets poitevins distingués
 

 
Jean-Loup Huret pour son Atlas de génétique et le laboratoire de «Synthèse et réactivité des substances naturelles» de l’Université de Poitiers viennent de remporter chacun un appel à projets de l’Institut national du cancer.

136 projets déposés au niveau national, 11 via le Cancéropôle Grand-Ouest, seulement 2 retenus en Poitou-Charentes… À la lueur de ces chiffres, on mesure mieux «l’exploit» réalisé par les équipes poitevines qui travaillent sur le sujet du cancer. «Cela prouve que Poitiers se débrouille bien», admet laconique Jean-Loup Huret, maître de conférence et praticien hospitalier au CHU de Poitiers. À commencer par le laboratoire de «Synthèse et réactivité des substances naturelles» de l’Université de Poitiers, dirigé par André Amblès.

Celui-ci a été retenu pour son projet de «développement d’une stratégie efficace permettant de préparer un grand nombre de composés analogues et brevetables à une molécule naturelle d’origine ayant un fort potentiel antimitotique». Deuxième thématique retenue dans l’appel de l’Institut national du cancer : l’Atlas de génétique et de cytogénétique en oncologie et hématologie mis à jour par Jean-Loup Huret.

3000 visiteurs par jour

Depuis 1997, le praticien et ses 500 auteurs européens et d’Amérique du Nord alimentent le site Internet infobiogen.fr/services/chromcancer qui avoisine aujourd’hui les 12000 pages. «En décidant de nous soutenir en 2006 et 2007, l’Inca a sans doute vu que notre travail était d’intérêt public. C’est heureux et assez logique au fond…», indique-t-il. Au même titre que le Cancer Genome Anatomy Project (CGAP) US ou Orpha.net, son portail fait aujourd’hui autorité dans le milieu médical. La preuve, l’Atlas recense 3000 visiteurs uniques par jour.

Des internautes du monde entier viennent partager et chercher des informations sur les formes les plus rares de maladies génétiques. Seul bémol : Jean-Loup Huret manque de soutien. «La lutte contre le cancer a besoin de soutien pérenne», estime le chercheur. Hormis ses auteurs, tous bénévoles naturellement, l’intéressé ne peut compter que sur un salarié pour mettre à jour le site, étant entendu que certaines parties sont disponibles en anglais, en allemand, en espagnol et en français. «On estime qu’il existe 4000 gènes du cancer. Sur l’Atlas, nous en recensons 400. Pour aller plus loin, il faut plus de moyens», conclut l’intéressé. À titre indicatif, le CGAP et Orpha.net disposent respectivement de 60 et 25 permanents.


http://www.infobiogen.fr/services/chromcancer
CHU de Poitiers : Les nouvelles urgences ouvertes
 
Hospitalisation à domicile : une unité voit le jour
 
Le Biopôle de Poitiers en Wallonie
 
Larime devient Mediscis
 


Tous les reportages
Consultez les archives...

BIOalternatives diversifie ses marchés
Lire...
Deux projets poitevins distingués
Lire...
L’IUT planche sur les biocombustibles
Lire...
Poitiers, capitale des biotechs
Lire...
PAREXEL mise sur l’humain
Lire...
Saunier et associés veut se diversifier
Lire...
Biocydex et BioXtract main dans la main
Lire...
Les meilleurs sur herbe
Lire...
Ianesco croit en son avenir
Lire...
Une tumorothèque, pour quoi faire ?
Lire...
TechnAvOx file un bon coton
Lire...
Larime vise 40 lits à Poitiers
Lire...
Poitiers veut valoriser sa recherche
Lire...
Le Biopôle prend date
Lire...
Un pôle régional de cancérologie en 2007
Lire...
 
  Mentions Légales
English / Anglais Français / French Accueil